Spot the Fake

I got bored at 3am a couple of weeks ago and ordered loads of weird 80p shit from AliExpress.

I bought a knock off ColourPop eyeshadow just to see how accurate they could make them, it turned up this morning so away we go! 

I’m not telling you which is fake yet. So far they’re identical – any colour difference is my shit photography.

They’ve really nailed the packaging. Taking that last photo was a fuckabout but I wanted to show that even the shiny sides were right – the difference in texture is down to how the boxes lay. It’s spot on so far!

The purples on the inside of the boxes is different. Tut tut. What else…

The writing around the outer edge goes in a different direction, but unlike LimeCrime fakes where the text differs a bit this is word for word…just the opposite way around. 

It’s at this point I realised I should have looked closer and compared two metallics or two pearlized. You live, you learn. 

I also should probably have remembered to take this photo pre-swatch but I was too giddy. The print on the eye shadows are both the same, I thought this would be where the fake would start to become clear but… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Yeeeeah the purple is fake.

From just touching them you can tell that the turquoise is much softer and more buttery, and you can see how crumbly the purple is in comparison (pic 2). The payoff isn’t half as good either.

This is going straight in the bin and nowhere near my eyes, because as good a fake as it may be there’s no telling what ingredients are in this and I’m not losing an eye to an 80p eye shadow. 

That’d be really embarrassing.

Leave a comment